Posted by Imperator on 10th May, 2022 @ 09:35 UTCBy Imperator on 10-05-2022 @ 09:35 UTC

The video is for the song "Swallow the Light", and is the first taste of the band's upcoming full-length album, "Thought Form Descent", scheduled for release on July 22nd via Metal Blade Records.

Wake premiere new music video
Wake premiere new music video

Last week, Canadian Blackened Death Metal outfit Canada Wake premiered a brand new music video for one of the songs off their new album, "Thought Form Descent", which is due for release on July 22nd via Metal Blade Records. The video is for the song "Swallow the Light", the second track on the album, check it out:


The label and band commented on what to expect from the new album:

Never a band interested in repeating themselves, WAKE has evolved with every release. 2020's Devouring Ruin made this clearer than ever, hammering the point home with the Confluence EP in the same year, and now they return with Thought Form Descent - their most dynamic, diverse and emotional release to date.

"I'd describe the record as a place to reconsider what 'extreme' means. The words 'brutal', 'crushing', 'devastating' are overused adjectives for extreme music. We wanted to force people to confront the idea that 'brutal' or 'extreme' ideas aren't just blastbeats or angular tritones, or, more importantly, 'brutal' elements alongside pointedly passive elements can create their own experience that can channel both and neither."

The result is eight nuanced tracks that run the gamut from relentlessly heavy to exquisitely beautiful - often simultaneously - and instantly grab hold of the listener, demanding their full attention. However, at the same time, they are lushly textured and densely layered, and offer more with every subsequent exposure, unfurling to show hidden depths, and taking WAKE to a whole new level.

"Thought Form Descent" was produced, engineered, mixed, and mastered by Dave Otero of Flatline Audio Studio in Denver, Colorado, and will mark the band's sixth full-length album. It also features guest appearance by Kevin Hufnagel of Canada Gorguts on two of the songs, with the complete tracklist as follows:

  1. Infinite Inward
  2. Swallow the Light
  3. Mourning Dirge (Repose of the Dead)
  4. Pareidolia
  5. Venerate (The Undoing of All)
  6. Observer to Master
  7. Bleeding Eyes of the Watcher
  8. The Translation of Deaths

Here's a closer look at the cover art:

Wake Can Thought Form Descent

Pre-orders for "Thought Form Descent" are now underway via the Metal Blade Records store:

Wake Form Through Descent Formats

for 'Wake premiere new music video'

No comments yet.
Leave a comment
for 'Wake premiere new music video'

Leave a comment
for 'Wake premiere new music video'

Create an account or log in to post comments.

Hot topics

Latest album reviews

Reviews for Mayhem (NOR) - Deathcrush
Deathcrush (1987)
Norway Mayhem (NOR)
95% 4.8 star rating
By Celebrimbor
Reviews for Blasphemerection - Orgy of Witches
Orgy of Witches (2020)
Mexico Blasphemerection
95% 4.8 star rating
By Darrell McWhitte
Reviews for Goatmoon - Varjot
Varjot (2011)
Finland Goatmoon
92% 4.6 star rating
By Warblackmetal666
Reviews for Cerberum - Spiritual Black Ritual
Spiritual Black Ritual (2006)
Colombia Cerberum
95% 4.8 star rating


Buy albums online through our site's links

Whenever you buy albums through our site, we receive a few cents for each sale, at no extra cost.

This helps us to stay online, and advert-free. Thank you for your continued support.

We are also on Patreon.

Report an error
Report an error on this page
Return to top
Page loaded in 0.20 seconds
Loaded in 0.20 s.