Posted by Imperator on 20th February, 2023 @ 09:05 UTCBy Imperator on 20-02-2023 @ 09:05 UTC

The new song is titled "Seraphim Falls", and is the second track to be made available from the band's upcoming debut album, "The Malign Covenant".

Verminous Serpent reveal opening track from upcoming debut
Verminous Serpent reveal opening track from upcoming debut

New Irish Black Metal formation Ireland Verminous Serpent are preparing to release what will be their debut studio album, titled "The Malign Covenant", on the 17th of March through Amor Fati Productions. So far, two of the songs from the album have been made available for listening, the most recent of which is the opening track, "Seraphim Falls":


Previously the song "Transcendent Pyre" was also made available:


While Verminous Serpent is a new formation, it counts with experienced members, including Alan "Nemtheanga" Averill of Ireland Primordial fame handling bass and vocal duties. The label commented further:

Verminous Serpent are a brand-new entity, but one bearing old souls: Slidhr's Joseph Deegan on guitar, Malthusian's Matt Bree on drums, and Primordial's A.A. Nemtheanga on vocals and bass, here exhibiting a frighteningly different side of his signature voice.

While all three men hail from different yet equally considerable backgrounds, their sound as Verminous Serpent is completely its own creation - a headspace distant and mostly removed from their collective pasts & presents.

Aptly titled, 'The Malign Covenant' is Verminous Serpent's first public work: a five-song/41-minute album that brims with ancient black metal energies. Rough and raw but never sloppy or taking half-measures, the trio's debut album twists and coils and fatally STRIKES similarly as their namesake; one could liken these songs to 'corridors', but that would suggest a finite destination. Instead, the entirety of The Malign Covenant evokes a rippling soundworld of lurking dread and sulfurous tension, where intensity is measured not by speed or density but by the hideous sensations that shapeshift within the listener's subconscious. The most complete crystallization of this can be found in the album's closing 13-minute epic, 'Deaths Head Mantra', fittingly ending the album on a climactic (and chilling) note.

Bestial in the olde definition but dispensing with the semantics shackling so much of nowadays 'black metal', Verminous Serpent have delivered a tome defiant of time itself.

The complete tracklist for "The Malign Covenant" is as follows:

  1. Seraphim Falls
  2. Transcendent Pyre
  3. The Malign Covenant
  4. Chasm of Nameless Bone
  5. Death's Head Mantra

"The Malign Covenant" will be available shortly through the Amor Fati Productions store:

Verminous Serpent The Malign Covenant

for 'Verminous Serpent reveal opening track from upcoming debut'

No comments yet.
Leave a comment
for 'Verminous Serpent reveal opening track from upcoming debut'

Leave a comment
for 'Verminous Serpent reveal opening track from upcoming debut'

Create an account or log in to post comments.

Hot topics

Latest album reviews

Reviews for Dissection - The Somberlain
The Somberlain (1993)
Sweden Dissection
95% 4.8 star rating
By ScorchedEarth
Reviews for Blackbraid - Blackbraid I
Blackbraid I (2022)
United States Blackbraid
94% 4.7 star rating
By ScorchedEarth
Reviews for Necros Christos - Domedon Doxomedon
Domedon Doxomedon (2018)
Germany Necros Christos
90% 4.5 star rating
By ScorchedEarth


Buy albums online through our site's links

Whenever you buy albums through our site, we receive a few cents for each sale, at no extra cost.

This helps us to stay online, and advert-free. Thank you for your continued support.

Report an error
Report an error on this page
Return to top
Page loaded in 0.25 seconds
Loaded in 0.25 s.