Posted by Imperator on 12th July, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 12-07-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

Enslaved reveal upcoming album

Norwegian Progressive / Viking Black Metal veterans Enslaved have recently revealed the details regarding their upcoming studio release. "RIITIIR" is the title of what will be their twelfth full length album, and a follow-up to their 2010 release "Axioma Ethica Odini".

Guitarist Ivar Bjørnson, one of Enslaved's songwriters and founding members, has revealed some further details behind the concepts on "RIITIIR" through the band's official Facebook profile:

The album is, as mentioned, entitled RIITIIR - a self-made 'Norse-ified' version of the words 'Rites' / 'Rituals.' RIITIIR = 'The ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 10th July, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 10-07-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

New Blut Aus Nord album 21/09

French Ambient Black Metal band Blut Aus Nord are scheduled to release their tenth full length studio recording, titled "777 - Cosmosophy", on the 21st of September 2012 through the Debemur Morti Productions record label.

"777 - Cosmosophy" will be the third and final part of their "777" trilogy of albums, with the first two parts of the trilogy being "777 - Sect(s)" and "777 - The Desanctification", both released in 2011.

As is usually the case with Blut Aus Nord's albums, the track list simply consists of numbered chapters:

Epitome XIV ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 7th July, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 07-07-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

New Behexen album in September

Finnish Black Metal band Behexen have announced recently that their new album, titled "Nightside Emanations", is set to be released through Debemur Morti Productions on the 21st of September, 2012. This will be their fourth full length studio recording, and a follow-up to their 2008 album "My Soul for His Glory".

The track list for "Nightside Emanations" is as follows:

Wrathfull Dragon Hau-Hra
Death's Black Light
Circle Me...
We Burn With Serpent Fire
Luciferian Will
Awaken Tiamat
Temple of the Silent Curses
Shining Death
Kiss of Ou ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 4th July, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 04-07-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

Abigail Williams call it a day

U.S. Black Metal band Abigail Williams have announced that they will disband as of the 16th of September, 2012. Ken Sorceron, the band's founder and only original remaining member, stated the following on his official Facebook page:

After much consideration we have decided to make these upcoming Abigail Williams shows our last U.S. tour. This was a very hard decision to make but feels absolutely necessary at this point. I've had the best times of my life with this band and learned so much about what I want to do with music as well as what I don't like about the industry etc... and we ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 1st July, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 01-07-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

Which is your preferred style of Black Metal?

As you may have noticed, we have added a brand new Black Metal Poll sidebox on the front page, just below the Recommended Album sidebox. We will be hosting many polls over the coming weeks, months, and hopefully years, asking our users all manner of Black Metal related questions and maybe the occasional off-topic one too. To begin with, we will inaugurate the poll with a very simple question: What is your preferred style of Black Metal?

You don't need to register or sign in to vote, just scroll down to find the Black Metal Poll sidebox on the right hand side, pick your favourite subgenre ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 30th June, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 30-06-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

We have made some changes to the way our search engine analyzes the database so that it will now show more relevant results for each search.

From now on, album titles and band names that match the exact search terms used will appear first, and then all partial matches will be shown afterwards. As always, all feedback is welcome, and if you do happen to notice any irregularities regarding the new search, let us know.

Posted by Imperator on 29th June, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 29-06-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

New Nachtmystium album 31st July

Nachtmystium, one of North America's better known Black Metal bands, are scheduled to release their sixth full length studio album on the 31st of July through Century Media Records.

The new album's title is Silencing Machine, and the track list is as follows:

Dawn Over the Ruin of Jerusalem
Silencing Machine
And I Control You
The Lepers of Destitution
Borrowed Hope and Broken Dreams
I Wait in Hell
Decimation Annihilation
Reduced to Ashes
Give Me the Grave
These Rooms in Which We Weep

Nachtmystium was formed by Blake Judd and Pat McCormick in Chicago in 2000, and ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 27th June, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 27-06-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

New Nightbringer / Acherontas split

"The Ruins of Edom" is the title of a new split album that is the product of the collaboration between U.S. Black Metal band Nightbringer and Greek Black Metal band Acherontas. "The Ruins of Edom" will be released in Europe via Polish record label Agonia Records.

The track listing for "The Ruins of Edom" is as follows:

Nightbringer - Ingress (The Gates of Edom)
Nightbringer - Mare
Nightbringer - The Grave Earths Son
Acherontas - Layil
Acherontas - Reverence for the Scarlet Goddess


Nightbringer are a Black Metal band from Green ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 26th June, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 26-06-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

1,000 Black Metal albums & beyond

We are proud to announce that we have recently reached and surpassed the 1,000 Black Metal album mark, a target we were hoping to achieve by the end of the year. Thanks to our editors and contributors alike, we have reached the 1,000 album target six months ahead of schedule, and we have set a new target of 2,000 albums to be reached before January 1st, 2013.

Our 1,000th album to be included was Tvangeste - FireStorm, a Russian Symphonic Black Metal album from 2002.

We would like to thank everyone who has supported and contributed to us, and remind everyone else ... [»]

Posted by Imperator on 24th June, 2012 @ 00:00 UTCBy Imperator on 24-06-2012 @ 00:00 UTC

New Nocte Obducta album 29th June

German Black Metal veterans Nocte Obducta, who recently re-formed in 2011 and released the album "Verderbnis - Der Schnitter Kratzt An Jeder Tür" after splitting up in 2006, are set to release what will be their ninth full length studio recording on the 29th of June.

The title of Nocte Obducta's new album is "Umbriel (Das Schweigen Zwischen Den Sternen)", which translates into English as "Umbriel - The Silence Between the Stars", although not much is known yet about the track listing or exact line-up.

Nocte Obducta were originally formed in Mainz, Germany, in 1993 under the name ... [»]

Hot topics

Poll #7: Live albums

Do you want to see live albums accepted onto the site?

Yes: 71.4% (5 votes)
No: 28.6% (2 votes)

Yes: 71.4% (5 votes)
No: 28.6% (2 votes)

Total votes: 7

Buy Black Metal albums online

Buy albums online through our site's links

Whenever you buy albums through our site, we receive a few cents for each sale, at no extra cost.

This helps us to stay online, and advert-free. Thank you for your continued support.


Report an error

Use this form to report any errors, bugs or incorrect information on this page:

Leave this field empty:

Site Summary

Last album update: 29th July, 2021
Last news update: 29th July, 2021

Users online: 1
Visitors online: 17

Total albums: 65,634
Total reviews: 167
Total news items: 446
Total forum threads: 15
Total band profiles: 47

Check out the Statistics page for full stats.

Fonts by Manfred Klein and Frik Rodriguez. Logo inspired by Opferblut.

Background image courtesy of si_kor Image courtesy of si_kor.

Return to top